Protocols
Contact Request   
HOME
Products
Protocols
References
Hardware
NEW!! Training

IEC 62351

DOWNISO/OSI Model
DOWNImplemented Protocol Stacks
DOWNApplicable Products
DOWNReferences

IEC 62351 is the current standard for security in energy management systems an associated data exchange. It describes measures to comply with the four major requirements for secure data communications / data processing: confidentiality, data integrity, authentication and non-repudiation.

IEC 62351 includes the following individual standards:

  • IEC 62351-1
    Overview of the entire document IEC 62351 and introduction to IT security aspects for the operation of power supply systems
  • IEC 62351-2
    Glossary of terms and abbreviations
  • IEC 62351-3
    End-to-end data traffic protection of TCP/IP-based connections using TLS [RFC5246] with mandatory mutual authentication of client and server based on X.509 certificates
  • IEC 62351-4
    Security measure for MMS-based protocols (e.g. IEC 60870-6, IEC 61850) by securing the transport layer according to IEC 62351-3 and definition of an authentication mechanism "SECURE" on the application layer for MMS associations using X.509 certificates
  • IEC 62351-5
    Security for IEC 60870-5 and derived protocols (e.g. IEC 60870-5-104 / IEC 60870-5-101 / DNP 3.0) on the application layer through the means of authorizing the access to cricital resources of a substation based on role-based access control (RBAC) and statistical recording of security relevant incidents
  • IEC 62351-6
    Security for IEC 61850 protocol by using VLAN marks and X.509 signatures on GOOSE and SMV telegrams
  • IEC 62351-7
    Security through the use of networking and system administration tools in order to enable monitoring of power grid infrastructure, i.e. using MIB definitions for IEDs, which provide relevant system information about the device and the communication lines via the SNMP protocol in a standardized way
  • IEC 62351-8
    Definition of methods to process and to manage access rights for users and services based on a role based access control (RBAC) scheme. The identity information, as wells as the role name is stored in an access token (ASN.1 syntax), which is exchanged in a cryptographically secure way between the systems using different transport mechanisms, i.e. X.509 certificates, X.509 attribute certificates, software token. An LDAP system centrally manages the access tokens and enables the access (PUSH- / PULL-mechanism) to the identity information of the communication partner. Furthermore, predefined default roles are established (see table below) and the access rights in the context of IEC 61850 are defined (e.g. listing of all objects within a "logical device").
    predefined role profiles
    table: predefined role profiles
  • IEC 62351-9
    "Cyber security", the key management for power supply systems, deals with the correct and safe usage of safety-critical parameters, e.g. passwords, encryption keys and the whole life cycle of cryptographic information (enrollment, creation, distribution, installation, usage, storage and removal). For algorithms applying asymmetric cryptography, the handling of digital certificates (public / private key), the necessary infrastructure (PKI, X.509 certificates) and the mechanisms concerning different management aspects (e.g. certificate request (SCEP, CMP) certificate revocation (CRL, OCSP), are defined. A secure distribution mechanism based on GDOI [RFC6407] and the IKEv2 protocol [RFC7427] is presented for the usage of symmetric keys, e.g. session keys.
  • IEC 62351-10
    The norm explains security architectures of the entire IT infrastructure, with additional focus on special security requirements in the field of power generation. Critical points of the communication architecture are identified (e.g. substation control center, substation automation) and appropriate security mechanisms (e.g. data encryption, user authentication) are proposed. The application of the mechanisms from IEC 62351 and well-proven standards from the IT domain (e.g. VPN tunnel, secure FTP, HTTPS) are combined to cope with the security requirements.
  • IEC 62351-11
    Security for XML files through embedding of the original XML content into an XML container, which enables optional data encryption, X.509 signature for authenticity of XML data, date of issue and access control of XML data.

The following illustration shows the mapping of the different IEC 62351 parts to standardized protocols in the domain of energy management:

relevance of the IEC 62351 parts to protocols of the IEC TC 57 working group
figure: relevance of the IEC 62351 parts to protocols of the IEC TC 57 working group

ISO/OSI Model

7 Application Layer IEC62351-11
IEC62351-9 (X.509 certificates)
6 Presentation Layer n/a
5 Session Layer IEC62351-5
IEC62351-6 (signatures)
IEC62351-8 (LDAP accesses)
IEC62351-9 (SCEP)
4 Transport Layer IEC62351-3 (TLS)
IEC62351-4 (TLS and MSS authentication)
3 Network Layer n/a
2 Link Layer IEC62351-6 (VLAN)
1 Physical Layer n/a

Implemented Protocol Stacks

DNP V3.00, MasterDNP V3.00, Slave
IEC 60870-5-104, MasterIEC 60870-5-104, Slave
IEC 61850, ClientIEC 61850, Server

Applicable Products

ipConvipConvUniversal protocol converter for highest degree of flexibility
Details...
product/ipConv/en/ipConv_en.pdf

References

Project CFEProject CFE
Details...
MexicoipConv Conitel-2020, Slave / DNP V3.00, Slave / DNP V3.00, Master / Harris-5000/6000, Slave / Recon, Slave / Indactic 33/41, 2033, Slave / Fuji, Slave / XMAT, Master /
ELIAELIA
Details...
BelgiumipConv Modbus TCP/IP, Master / IEC 60870-5-104, Slave / Telegyr 065, Master / Telegyr 102, Master / Telegyr 809, Master / Tracec 32, 62, 92, 92P, 122, 130 & 142 Master /
Storebælt, DenmarkStorebælt, Denmark
Details...
DenmarkipConv IEC 60870-5-104, Master / IEC 60870-5-104, Slave / Simatic TDC, Master / Modbus TCP/IP, Master /
SEC SVC, Saudi ArabiaSEC SVC, Saudi Arabia
Details...
Saudi ArabiaipConv IEC 60870-5-101, Slave / IEC 60870-5-104, Slave / IEC 61850, Client / Simatic TDC, Master /
HVDC New ZealandHVDC New Zealand
Details...
New ZealandipConv ipConvLite DNP V3.00, Slave / DNP V3.00, Master / TASE.2, Server / TASE.2, Client / Modbus, Master / Simatic TDC, Master /
BLS Lötschbergtunnel II, SwitzerlandBLS Lötschbergtunnel II, Switzerland
Details...
SwitzerlandipConv ipRoute IEC 60870-5-104, Master / IEC 60870-5-104, Slave / SNMP, Client /
BLS AlpTransit - LötschbergtunnelBLS AlpTransit - Lötschbergtunnel
Details...
SwitzerlandipConv ipRoute OPC DA 3.0, Server / IEC 60870-5-104, Slave / IEC 60870-5-101, Master / IEC 60870-5-104, Master / SNMP, Client /
BASSLINK HVDC Victoria / TasmaniaBASSLINK HVDC Victoria / Tasmania
Details...
AustraliaipConv DNP V3.00, Slave / Simatic TDC, Master /
© 2004-2017 IPCOMM GmbH

IEC 62351

IEC 62351 ist der aktuellste Standard für Sicherheit in Energiemanagementsystemen und zugehörigem Datenaustausch und beschreibt Maßnahmen zur Erfüllung der vier Grundforderungen an sichere Datenkommunikation / Datenverarbeitung: Vertraulichkeit, Datenintegrität, Authentifizierung und Unleugbarkeit.

IEC 62351 besteht aus folgenden Einzelnormen:

  • IEC 62351-1
    Übersicht über das Gesamtdokument IEC 62351 und Einführung in die informationstechnischen Sicherheitsaspekte für den Betrieb von Stromversorgungsanlagen
  • IEC 62351-2
    Glossar der verwendeten Begriffe und Abkürzungen
  • IEC 62351-3
    Ende-zu-Ende Absicherung des Datenverkehrs für TCP/IP-basierte Verbindungen durch Verwendung von TLS [RFC5246] mit erforderlicher gegenseitiger Authentifizierung von Client und Server auf Basis von X.509-Zertifikaten
  • IEC 62351-4
    Sicherheitsmaßnahme für MMS-basierte Protokolle (z.B. IEC 60870-6, IEC 61850) durch Absicherung der Transportschicht gemäß IEC 62351-3 und Definition eines Authentifizierungsmechanismus "SECURE" auf der Anwenderschicht für MMS-Assoziationen unter Verwendung von X.509-Zertifikaten
  • IEC 62351-5
    Sicherheit für IEC 60870-5 und abgeleitete Protokolle (z.B. IEC 60870-5-104 / IEC 60870-5-101 / DNP 3.0) auf der Anwenderschicht mittels Zugriffsberechtigung auf kritische Ressourcen einer Unterstation auf Basis von Rollen-basierten Zugriffsbeschränkungen (RBAC) und Erfassung sicherheitsrelevanter Ereignisse in Statistiken.
  • IEC 62351-6
    Sicherheit für das IEC61850-Protokoll durch Einsatz von VLAN-Markierungen und X.509-Signaturen bei GOOSE- und SMV-Telegrammen
  • IEC 62351-7
    Sicherheit durch Einsatz von Tools zur Netzwerk- und Systemverwaltung, um eine Überwachung der Stromnetz-Infrastruktur zu ermöglichen, z.B. unter Verwendung von MIB-Definitionen für IEDs, die herstellerunabhängige relevante Systeminformationen bezüglich des Gerätes und der Kommunikationslinien über das SNMP-Protokoll in einer standardisierten Art bereitstellen
  • IEC 62351-8
    Definition von Methoden zur Verarbeitung und Verwaltung von Zugriffsrechten für Benutzer und Dienste auf Basis eines Rollen-basierten Zugriffskontrollsystems (RBAC). Die Identitätsinformation sowie der Rollenname wird in einem Zugriff-Token (ASN.1-Syntax) abgelegt, der mit Hilfe verschiedener Transportmechanismen (X.509-Zertifikate, X.509-Attribut-Zertifikate, Software-Token) auf eine kryptographisch sichere Art zwischen den Systemen ausgetauscht wird. Die zentrale Verwaltung der Zugangsdaten erfolgt über ein LDAP-System, das den Zugriff (PUSH- / PULL-Mechanismus) auf die Identitätsinformation des Kommunikationspartners ermöglicht. Zudem werden vordefinierte Standard-Rollen eingeführt (siehe folgende Tabelle) und die Zugriffsrechte im Kontext von IEC 61850 (z.B. Auflistung aller Objekte in einem "Logischen Gerät") definiert.
    vordefinierte Rollenprofile
    Tabelle: vordefinierte Rollenprofile
  • IEC 62351-9
    "Cyber Security", das Schlüssel-Management für Stromversorgungsanlagen, behandelt den korrekten und sicheren Umgang mit sicherheitskritischen Parametern, z.B. Passwörter, Verschlüsselungsschlüssel und den gesamten Lebenszyklus von kryptografischer Information (Anmeldung, Erstellung, Verbreitung, Installation, Verwendung, Lagerung sowie der Entfernung). Für asymmetrische Verschlüsselungsverfahren wird der Umgang mit digitalen Zertifikaten (öffentlicher / privater Schlüssel), die notwendige Infrastruktur (PKI, X.509-Zertifikate) sowie Mechanismen bezüglich verschiedener Management-Aspekte, z.B. Zertifikatsanforderung (SCEP, CMP), Zertifikatssperrung (CRL, OCSP) definiert. Bei Verwendung von symmetrischen Schlüsseln (z.B. Sitzungsschlüssel) wird ein Mechanismus zur sicheren Verteilung basierend auf GDOI [RFC6407] und IKEv2 [RFC7427] vorgestellt.
  • IEC 62351-10
    Die Norm erläutert Sicherheits-Architekturen für die gesamte IT-Infrastruktur, mit zusätzlichem Fokus auf spezielle Sicherheitsanforderungen aus dem Umfeld der Stromerzeugung. Es werden kritische Stellen in der Kommunikationsarchitektur (z.B. Leitstelle zum Umspannwerk, Umspannwerk-Automatisierung) identifiziert und geeignete Sicherheitsmechanismen (z.B. Datenverschlüsselung, Benutzerauthentifizierung) vorgeschlagen. Die Anwendung des Mechanismus' aus IEC 62351 und bewährte Standards aus dem IT-Bereich (z.B. VPN Tunnel, Secure FTP, HTTPS) werden kombinierte, um den Sicherheitsanforderungen gerecht zu werden.
  • IEC 62351-11
    Sicherheit für XML-Dateien durch Einbettung des originalen XML-Inhalts in einen XML-Container, der wahlweise Verschlüsselung, X.509-Signatur für die Authentizität der XML-Daten, Erstellungszeitpunkt und Zugriffskontrolle für XML-Daten ermöglicht.

Die Zuordnung der verschiedenen Einzelnormen aus IEC 62351 auf standardisierte Protokolle im Bereich der Energiewirtschaft wird in folgender Grafik dargestellt:

Relevanz der IEC 62351 Einzelnormen für die Protokolle der Arbeitsgruppe IEC TC 57
Abbildung: Relevanz der IEC 62351 Einzelnormen für die Protokolle der Arbeitsgruppe IEC TC 57

ISO/OSI Modell

7 Anwenderschicht IEC62351-11
IEC62351-9 (X.509 certificates)
6 Darstellungsschicht N/A
5 Sitzungsschicht IEC62351-5
IEC62351-6 (signatures)
IEC62351-8 (LDAP accesses)
IEC62351-9 (SCEP)
4 Transportschicht IEC62351-3 (TLS)
IEC62351-4 (TLS and MSS authentication)
3 Vermittlungsschicht N/A
2 Sicherungsschicht IEC62351-6 (VLAN)
1 Bitübertragungsschicht N/A

Verfügbare Protokollstacks

DNP V3.00, Master

DNP V3.00, Slave

IEC 60870-5-104, Master

IEC 60870-5-104, Slave

IEC 61850, Client

IEC 61850, Server

Geeignete Produkte

  • ipConv
    ipConv

    Universeller Protokollkonverter für höchste Ansprüche an Flexiblität

Referenzen

  • Projekt CFE
    Projekt CFE, Mexiko

    Produkte: ipConv
    Protokollstacks: Conitel-2020, Slave DNP V3.00, Slave DNP V3.00, Master Harris-5000/6000, Slave Recon, Slave Indactic 33/41, 2033, Slave Fuji, Slave XMAT, Master

  • ELIA
    ELIA, Belgien

    Produkte: ipConv
    Protokollstacks: Modbus TCP/IP, Master IEC 60870-5-104, Slave Telegyr 065, Master Telegyr 102, Master Telegyr 809, Master Tracec 32, 62, 92, 92P, 122, 130 & 142 Master

  • Storebælt
    Storebælt, Daenemark

    Produkte: ipConv
    Protokollstacks: IEC 60870-5-104, Master IEC 60870-5-104, Slave Simatic TDC, Master Modbus TCP/IP, Master

  • SEC SVC
    SEC SVC, Saudi Arabien

    Produkte: ipConv
    Protokollstacks: IEC 60870-5-101, Slave IEC 60870-5-104, Slave IEC 61850, Client Simatic TDC, Master

  • HGÜ
    HGÜ, Neuseeland

    Produkte: ipConv ipConvLite
    Protokollstacks: DNP V3.00, Slave DNP V3.00, Master TASE.2, Server TASE.2, Client Modbus, Master Simatic TDC, Master

  • BLS Lötschbergtunnel II
    BLS Lötschbergtunnel II, Schweiz

    Produkte: ipConv ipRoute
    Protokollstacks: IEC 60870-5-104, Master IEC 60870-5-104, Slave SNMP, Client

  • BLS AlpTransit - Lötschbergtunnel
    BLS AlpTransit - Lötschbergtunnel, Schweiz

    Produkte: ipConv ipRoute
    Protokollstacks: OPC DA 3.0, Server IEC 60870-5-104, Slave IEC 60870-5-101, Master IEC 60870-5-104, Master SNMP, Client

  • BASSLINK HVDC Victoria / Tasmanien
    BASSLINK HVDC Victoria / Tasmanien, Australien

    Produkte: ipConv
    Protokollstacks: DNP V3.00, Slave Simatic TDC, Master