ipELB

4-Port Ethernet Line Breaker with relay controlled Ethernet ports and integrated I/O module

  • ipELB stage.png

    ipELB is a cybersecurity system for industrial networks that can physically disconnect Ethernet connections. It features relay-controlled 10 Gigabit Ethernet ports, each of which can be turned on and off via a toggle switch on the device as well as remotely. Remote control is based on standardized communication protocols.

    ipELB relays

    To enable/disable the Ethernet ports, bistable relays that maintain their state even during power outages are used. Existing connections will not be affected accordingly.

    The applied SEC3ER hardware platform features a digital I/O module to control and capture digital states, and to physically disconnect up to four Ethernet port pairs. For this purpose, eight digital inputs and outputs are available, in addition to a variety of fieldbus protocols, telecontrol protocols, and established IT/cloud protocols, to monitor and control the connections of the 4-Port Ethernet Line Breaker.

    ipELB LEDs and toggle switches

    The integrated web interface provides numerous configuration settings to automate the separable Ethernet connections. It includes powerful functions for data processing and provides a digital I/O interface that can be used to create complex switching scenarios.

    Features

    • Support for 10M / 100M / 1G and 10G Ethernet
    • Transparent data transmission
    • Controlled bidirectional data exchange between systems
    • Network segmentation
    • Daisy chain of multiple SEC3ER

    Since ipELB supports communication using numerous protocols, it can be easily integrated into existing projects, as the following examples demonstrate:

    • Connection to a PLC can be realized using the S7 Protocol (RFC 1006) or Simatic Fetch/Write protocols
    • Integration into a network management system using SNMP agents
    • Integration into a SCADA/HMI system by using the protocols OPC UA, IEC 60870-5-104 or DNP 3.0
    • Connection to the corporate IT via the REST interface
    • Clustering multiple SEC3ER to implement complex architectures

    The following use cases illustrate potential applications of ipELB.

Redundant ISP Integration
  • redundant ISP

    For seamless switching between redundant Internet providers (ISP), the product ipELB is ideally suited. SEC3ER, which serves as a hardware platform, can physically disconnect up to 4 Ethernet ports.

    The diagram shows the schematic structure of a corporate network. System operators can control and automate which ISP is set active by using industrial protocols. The corporate IT can also decide which connection is to be used by using the mechanical 3-way switches. Automated connections are overridden by manual switching.

Redundancy Coupling for Standalone Systems
  • legacy redundancy

    To ensure operation and reliability of critical systems, companies deploy redundant systems. Yet many devices do not meet this requirement. With ipELB even such devices can be used for redundant operation.

    This is achieved by connecting two identically configured devices (e.g. by assigning identical IP addresses) on two Ethernet ports of the 4-Port Ethernet Line Breaker SEC3ER. The passive component remains physically separated from the network. If the active component fails, its connection is cut while the connection of the passive device is set active. An automatic redundancy control of this kind can be implemented, for example, using the digital I/O interface.

Network Segmentation
  • decouple corporate networks

    If the physical connection status of specific network segments needs to be monitored and remotely controlled, we recommend the use of ipELB.

    In case of security incidents within the corporate network, affected segments can be isolated selectively by physically separating corresponding connections. Communication on all other lines remains unaffected.

    One option for controlling (and automating) the connections is the integration of intrusion detection systems (IDS). These detect anomalies in communication and can reliably disconnect affected connections using ipELB.

Secure Remote Maintenance
  • remote access

    With the increasing degree of networking between machines and industrial facilities, the need for remote maintenance access to optimize costs is likewise growing. At the same time, this raises the risk of cyber attacks, especially if systems with insufficient security mechanisms or legacy systems are deployed.

    With ipELB, network connectivity can be provided and monitored for secure remote maintenance. If momentarily not required, the maintenance connection can be physically disconnected. Thus potential attackers have no opportunity to exploit the idle port to infiltrate malicious code.

Configuration
  • System configuration is completely performed in a web browser. No other special configuration tools are required. A conventional notebook with a network interface and web browser are all that is necessary.

    ipConv in its current version 4 enables encrypted communication between web server and browser via the HTTPS protocol.

    ipELB main menu

    The main menu provides access to all relevant functions of ipConv, showing the overall system status at a glance.

    The following functions are available:

    • Switch between operating mode OPERATIONAL (unattended station) or MAINTENANCE (allows full access to all ipConv functions)
    • Backup and restore the complete configuration
    • License management (ADMIN)
      Installation of (DEMO-) licenses, limited or unrestricted licenses
    • Software upgrade (ADMIN)
    • Import configuration information from tables
    • Edit configuration parameters
    • Release and versioning of a station configuration
    • Start and stop the system
    • Access diagnostic data (see also Diagnostics)
    • Access process image and data simulation
    • Creation of custom logbooks
      Changes of normalized information are selectively documented in configurable logbooks for tracing or logging reasons over a period of time.
    • Access current logfiles
    • Excel Import
      The Excel file can be imported directly (Supportet formats: .xlsx, .xlsm, .csv)

    The following example shows the overview of an information object taken from the node configuration (in this case for the digital I/O output DO1).

    ipELB configuration

    The category "Status", assigned to the information object, is used to display the object's value in the diagnostics area (see Diagnostics).

    ipConv enables fast and efficient processing of great volumes of data points by allowing data import from tables. These tables are based on templates and may be processed with various spreadsheet programs, such as Microsoft Excel. The extended use of formulae minimizes the amount of data that needs to be configured manually, substantially reducing the number of errors.

    ipConv datapoint table import

Diagnostics
  • ipELB allows to determine the communication status on all interfaces at a glance at any time. If there is no personnel familiar with the system present on site, it is a major advantage that a non-specialist is capable of doing so as well.

    A unique feature of ipELB is the supplied diagnostics template for visualizing and controlling the different states of the 4-Port Ethernet Line Breaker. As the following figure demonstrates, the state of each Ethernet relay can be monitored and controlled remotely through the web interface. Even without telecontrol protocols, the Ethernet connections can be set active or interrupted remotely.

    ipELB diagnostics

    With this template, digital output states can be set as well. This is particularly useful to test certain functions with remote stations. Digital input signals are visualized in this context.

    The configuration determines, which information is shown with which text or color.

    Apart from indications or measured values, command controls can also be displayed as a button, e.g. to initiate a general interrogation.

    ipConv diagnostics

    Should further diagnostic functions be required, these can be added and customized in the configuration.

Available Protocol Stacks

Database, Client

DNP V3.00, Master

DNP V3.00, Slave

Simatic Fetch/Write, Master

IEC 60870-5-101, Master

IEC 60870-5-101, Slave

IEC 60870-5-103, Master

IEC 60870-5-103, Slave

IEC 60870-5-104, Master

IEC 60870-5-104, Slave

IEC 61850, Client

IEC 61850, Server

MQTT, Publisher

MQTT, Subscriber

Modbus, Master

Modbus, Slave

Modbus TCP/IP, Master

Modbus TCP/IP, Slave

OPC DAXML 1.01, Server

OPC UA 1.02, Client

OPC UA 1.02, Server

S7 Protocol, Client

SNMP, Client

Hardware
  • SEC3ER
    SEC3ER

    Relay-controlled 4-Port Ethernet Line Breaker with integrated I/O module

ipELB

4-Port Ethernet Line Breaker mit relaisgesteuerten Ethernet-Ports und integriertem I/O-Modul

  • ipELB

    ipELB ist ein System für Cybersicherheit in industriellen Netzwerken, mit dem Ethernet-Verbindungen physikalisch getrennt werden können. Es verfügt über relaisgesteuerte 10-Gigabit-Ethernet-Ports, die je über einen Schalter am Gerät als auch aus der Ferne an- und abgeschaltet werden können. Für die Remote-Steuerung kommen standardisierte Kommunikations­protokolle zum Einsatz.

    ipELB Relais

    Zur Schaltung der Ethernet-Ports werden bistabile Relais eingesetzt, die ihren Zustand selbst bei Stromausfällen beibehalten. Bestehende Verbindungen werden daher nicht beeinträchtigt.

    Die eingesetzte Hardwareplattform SEC3ER verfügt über ein Digital-I/O-Modul, um Zustände zu schalten, zu erfassen und bis zu vier Ethernet Portpaare physikalisch zu trennen. Hierzu stehen acht digitale Ein- und Ausgänge bereit, die neben einer Vielzahl an Feldbus-, Fernwirk- und etablierten IT-/Cloud-Protokollen dazu verwendet werden können, die Verbindungen des 4-Port Ethernet Line Breakers zu überwachen und steuern.

    ipELB LEDs and toggle switches

    Die integrierte Weboberfläche stellt vielfältige Konfigurationsmöglichkeiten bereit, um die trennbaren Ethernet-Verbindungen zu automatisieren. Sie enthält leistungsfähige Funktionen zur Verarbeitung von Prozessinformationen und kann Zustände der Digital I/O-Schnittstelle dazu verwenden, um komplexe Schaltungsszenarien zu ermöglichen.

    Features

    • Unterstützung von 10M / 100M / 1G und 10G Ethernet
    • Transparente Datenübertragung
    • Kontrollierter bidirektionaler Datenaustausch zwischen Systemen
    • Netzwerksegmentierung
    • Daisy-Chain aus mehreren SEC3ER

    Da ipELB die Kommunikation mittels zahlreicher Protokolle unterstützt, kann es flexibel in bestehende Projekte integriert werden, wie folgende Beispiele veranschaulichen:

    • Anbindung an eine SPS kann über die Protokolle S7 Protokoll (RFC 1006) und Simatic Fetch/Write erfolgen
    • Einbindung in ein Netzwerk Management System mit Hilfe von SNMP-Agenten
    • Integration in ein SCADA/HMI-System über die Protokolle OPC UA, IEC 60870-5-104 oder DNP 3.0
    • Verbindung mit der Unternehmens-IT über die REST-Schnittstelle
    • Bildung von Clustern aus mehreren SEC3ER zur Realisierung komplexer Architekturen

    Die folgenden Anwendungsbeispiele veranschaulichen die Einsatzmöglichkeiten von ipELB.

Anbindung redundanter Provider (ISP)
  • redundant ISP

    Für die nahtlose Umschaltung zwischen redundanten Internetprovidern (ISP) eignet sich das Produkt ipELB bestens. Als Hardwareplattform dient der 4-Port Ethernet Line Breaker SEC3ER, mit dem bis zu 4 Ethernet-Ports physikalisch getrennt werden können.

    Das Schaubild zeigt den schematischen Aufbau eines Unternehmensnetzwerks. Anlagenbetreiber können über industrielle Protokolle steuern und automatisieren, welcher ISP aktiv gesetzt wird. Die Unternehmens-IT kann über mechanische 3-Wege-Schalter ebenfalls bestimmen, welche Verbindung genutzt werden soll. Automatisierte Verbindungen werden durch das manuelle Schalten überschrieben.

Redundanzkopplung für Einzelanlagen
  • legacy redundancy

    Um die Betriebs- und Ausfallsicherheit kritischer Anlagen zu gewährleisten, setzen Unternehmen redundante Systeme ein. Viele Geräte sind hierfür jedoch nicht geeignet. Mit Hilfe von ipELB können selbst solche Geräte zum redundanten Betrieb eingesetzt werden.

    Dies ist möglich, indem zwei identisch konfigurierte Geräte (z.B. durch Vergabe gleicher IP-Adressen) über zwei Ethernet-Ports des 4-Port Ethernet Line Breakers SEC3ER angebunden werden. Die passive Komponente wird dabei physikalisch vom Netz getrennt. Kommt es zum Ausfall der aktiven Komponente, wird deren Verbindung getrennt, während die Trennung der Passiven aufgehoben wird. Eine derartige Redundanzsteuerung kann beispielsweise automatisch über die Digital-I/O-Schnittstelle erfolgen.

Netzwerksegmentierung
  • decouple corporate networks

    Soll der physikalische Verbindungszustand einzelner Netzwerk-Segmente überwacht und (fern)gesteuert werden, bietet sich der Einsatz von ipELB an.

    Kommt es zu Sicherheitsvorfällen im Unternehmensnetz, können betroffene Segmente gezielt isoliert werden, indem entsprechende Verbindungen physikalisch unterbrochen werden. Die Kommunikation auf allen weiteren Linien läuft dabei ungehindert weiter.

    Zur Steuerung (und Automatisierung) der Verbindungen ist die Integration von Intrusion Detection Systemen (IDS) denkbar. Diese erkennen Anomalien in der Kommunikation und können betroffene Verbindungen mittels ipELB zuverlässig trennen.

Sichere Fernwartung
  • remote access

    Mit der zunehmenden Vernetzung von Maschinen und Industrieanlagen steigt auch der Bedarf nach Fernwartungszugängen, um diese kostenoptimiert zu betreiben. Gleichzeitig steigt damit das Risiko von Cyber-Angriffen, nicht zuletzt, wenn Systeme mit unzureichenden Sicherheitsmechanismen oder Altanlagen eingesetzt werden.

    Mit ipELB können Netzwerkverbindungen zur sicheren Fernwartung bereitgestellt und überwacht werden. Wird der Zugang nicht benötigt, kann die Wartungsverbindung physikalisch getrennt werden. Potentielle Angreifer haben somit keine Möglichkeit, die ungenutzte Verbindung zum Einschleusen von Schadcode zu nutzen.

Konfiguration
  • Die Konfiguration des Systems erfolgt komplett über einen Webbrowser. Keine weiteren speziellen Konfigurationstools sind erforderlich, außer einem normalen Notebook mit Netzwerkschnittstelle und einem Webbrowser.

    Die aktuelle ipConv Version 4 bietet die Möglichkeit der verschlüsselten Kommunikation zwischen Webserver und Browser über das HTTPS-Protokoll.

    ipELB main menu

    Die Hauptnavigation erlaubt den Zugriff auf alle relevanten Funktionen von ipConv und zeigt auf einen Blick den Zustand des Systems.

    Folgende Funktionen stehen hier zur Verfügung:

    • Wechseln in den Betriebsmodus (unbeaufsichtigte Station) oder Wartungsmodus (Freischaltung der konfigurationsändernden Funktionen)
    • Sicherung und Wiederherstellung der kompletten Konfiguration
    • Lizenzverwaltung (ADMIN)
      Installation von (Demo-) Lizenzen, Lizenzen mit oder ohne Laufzeitbeschränkung
    • Softwareupgrade (ADMIN)
    • Import von Konfigurationsinformationen aus Tabellen
    • Bearbeitung der Konfigurationsparameter
    • Freigabe und Versionierung einer Stationskonfiguration
    • Starten und Stoppen des Systems
    • Zugriffe auf Diagnoseinformationen (siehe Diagnose)
    • Zugriff auf das Prozessabbild und Simulation von Daten
    • Anlegen eigener Logbücher
      Zustandsänderungen von normierten Informationen können bei Bedarf gezielt in konfigurierbare Logbücher übertragen werden, um sie über einen bestimmten Zeitraum zu verfolgen oder zu protokollieren.
    • Zugriff auf aktuelle Logdateien
    • Excel Import
      Die Excel-Datei kann direkt importiert werden (Unterstützte Formate: .xlsx, .xlsm, .csv)

    Das folgende Beispiel zeigt die Node-Konfiguration für das Informationsobjekt des Digital-I/O-Ausgangs DO1, um den zugehörigen Wert zu visualisieren.

    ipELB configuration

    Die zugewiesene Kategorie "Status" des Informationsobjekts dient der Anzeige des Objektwerts im Diagnosebereich (siehe Diagnose).

    Um große Mengen an Datenpunkten schnell und effektiv bearbeiten zu können, bietet ipConv die Möglichkeit, Daten aus Tabellen zu importieren. Die Tabellen werden aus Vorlagen erstellt und können mit einem Tabellenkalkulationsprogramm (z.B. MS Excel) bearbeitet werden. Durch Verwendung von Formeln wird die einzugebende Datenmenge auf ein Minimum reduziert. Dadurch wird auch die Fehlerrate erheblich gesenkt.

    ipConv datapoint table import

Diagnose
  • Mit ipELB ist es möglich, jederzeit auf einen Blick den Zustand der Kommunikation auf allen Schnittstellen feststellen zu können. Ist kein mit dem System vertrautes Personal auf der Anlage verfügbar, ist es von großem Vorteil, dass auch ein Laie dazu in der Lage ist.

    Eine Besonderheit bei ipELB ist das mitgelieferte Diagnose-Template zur Visualisierung und Steuerung der einzelnen Zustände des 4-Port Ethernet Line Breakers. Wie in folgender Abbildung zu erkennen ist, kann der Zustand jedes Ethernet-Relais durch die Weboberfläche überwacht und aus der Ferne gesteuert werden. Selbst ohne den Einsatz von Fernwirkprotokollen können somit Ethernet Verbindungen aktiv geschalten oder unterbrochen werden.

    ipELB diagnostics

    Mit Hilfe dieser Vorlage können auch ausgehende Signale (Digital Output) gesetzt werden. Dies ist besonders hilfreich, um bestimmte Funktionen mit Gegenstellen zu testen. Eingehende Signale (Digital Input) werden hierbei visualisiert.

    Welche Informationen hier dargestellt werden, mit welchen Texten und in welcher Farbe, wird mittels Konfiguration festgelegt.

    Neben reinen Meldungen und Messwerten können hier auch Steuerbefehle, z.B. eine Schaltfläche zum Auslösen einer Generalabfrage, dargestellt werden.

    ipConv diagnostics

    Werden weitere Diagnosefunktionen benötigt, können diese über die Konfiguration hinzugefügt und angepasst werden.

Verfügbare Protokollstacks

Database, Client

DNP V3.00, Master

DNP V3.00, Slave

Simatic Fetch/Write, Master

IEC 60870-5-101, Master

IEC 60870-5-101, Slave

IEC 60870-5-103, Master

IEC 60870-5-103, Slave

IEC 60870-5-104, Master

IEC 60870-5-104, Slave

IEC 61850, Client

IEC 61850, Server

MQTT, Publisher

MQTT, Subscriber

Modbus, Master

Modbus, Slave

Modbus TCP/IP, Master

Modbus TCP/IP, Slave

OPC DAXML 1.01, Server

OPC UA 1.02, Client

OPC UA 1.02, Server

S7 Protokoll, Client

SNMP, Client

Hardware
  • SEC3ER
    SEC3ER

    Relaisgesteuerter 4-Port Ethernet Line Breaker mit integriertem I/O-Modul